top of page
Search

OPEN LETTER TO ENGINEERING STUDENTS


I have written for the likes and the clout

I have written when sad and happy

I have written my feelings quite often

And now I am writing for votes.



This is an open letter to engineering students. A letter or a narration however way you'll find it.


Dear gentle reader, see I love my coffee hot with lots of milk in it.

The first time I thought of vying for an ESA seat, I didn't do it just because there was a slot. I didn't do it out of need for power. I didn't do it because it had crossed my mind like 'oh I can vie'. No.


I sat on that wobbly steel chair in my room with a cup of hot coffee thinking of the million things yet done.

I thought of something. A gap in the engineering sector. A change. Something i needed to fulfil

I thought of how change was preached with every passing election yet on most times we never felt it. Not to dismiss that some changes have taken place, but the same things were done time and time again.


I wanted to do something. Something big. A small girl with a big dream is scary. To admit that I was scared doesn't change how you view me , right?

So I was scared, scared of things that would probably break me. Scared of having to be harassed by students who thought by vying I had money or my heart would be automatically be made of stone.


Ironically, the journey was everything that I didn't expect. I found people who wholesomely supported me. I made friends in the process. Strangers who still check up on me often. I found a boy who precisely preached for me, to me.

On a random Wednesday evening I went ahead and told him to vote for me. He agreed and asked if I believed in God. I did, I do. We sat there, a small chit chat wasn't what I needed because I was literally breaking down from the pressure. But I loved it. He reminded me of a God whose intentions for us was pure. One whom I should trust and count on. I left that room feeling better. That boy in Celt told me that because of me, he now believed in politics. I left that room feeling quite okay.


When the results were out, I had lost to my opponent by only four votes. Failure wasn't the end of the road. I was a newbie and I gave myself grace. At the end, it didn't even break me, I was moulded.


I learnt that leadership should not come from a place of arrogance or ignorance.

Leadership isn't a play field where children stroll. Leadership means to be a servant to the people.

Leadership shouldn't be coveted with a selfish gain.

A leader should address people with courtesy and watch their tone.

Leadership is to serve with a selfless heart. What are you going to do for the people? Do you just need to carry confidence around without something substantial to pitch up? No. It's okay to be scared. It's natural.

What is not okay is not knowing why you would even choose to run for a seat.


Seating on this very steel chair, I have drawn out my plans for the engineering school. Yet again, I am humbly requesting you to believe in me like you did the last time.


For the sake of everyone who will be sitting for their CATS this week and won't have enough time to listen to my manifestos, here is a short summary of my intentions for you:

1. Mentorship leads.

Quite aware that we have students who join in without really knowing what their course is all about. So I'm aiming for student to student mentorship. We will form groups and have meetings. Looking forward to making It a success across all departments. A short programme but under the ESA umbrella.

2. Workshops and talks

This is talked about every time but there is still a gap. We still have the same companies over and over again. I believe with a good team we'll bring more companies on board and not just the usual ones.

3. InterVarsity cooperation

I want to bring on board such a thing in ESA. Learn what others are learning. Learn what it takes to know these are the people we'll be competing in future probably. Learn of opportunities that they know of.

4. Hackathons and competitions.

I do believe everyone in engineering is super smart. This may not be evidenced in just papers. Some of us have skills that isn't often practised. I want us to have a platform where projects will be showcased not just once or twice a year during the annual engineering conferences. Show the world what you got. Let us recognize you.


I have a roadmap tabled. Incase you have any questions I'm ready to address them. Let's meet and talk.

I will give you details on how, why and when the above will be executed. All you need to do is trust me and see the REAL change. I believe I have a purpose to fulfill in the engineering sector at such a time as this.


I do not come to you by chance.

Bett



 

Hello lovely readers!

This is a special edition.

I am so sorry to my fans who aren't from UON engineering school.

I will make it up to you and please pray and root for me regardless.

I hope you enjoyed this read.

your insights will be appreciated.

Like, share, comment, subscribe


You can find me on instagram _mutai.mutinda


228 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2021 by LIFETIME. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
bottom of page